The buckets in our homes

In most African households, you’ll probably see at least two buckets.  Amongst the buckets, one will be used for hand washing clothes. 

 

My Gogo (grandmother) always used to say the washing machine doesn’t do as good of a job as hand washing. 

She would also tell me that specific clothes are not meant for the washing machine, even if they say on the tags that they are washable. On that point, we would agree to disagree, but now that I’m older, I can see her point clearly.

My mother, Gogo, and I had lived together my entire life, so she would save my delicate clothes from the washing machine and hand wash them for me. My Gogo was always a hard-working woman; she delighted in work no matter the task.

 I’m used to hand washing clothes, but I would usually do anything to avoid it.

I’ve learned from my Gogo that sometimes you need to complete a task the longer way to get the best results. Sometimes shortcuts and the convenient way are just that, and you may be picking convenience over quality.

I have realised that, for a long time, I have been picking convenience over quality, and I refuse to continue for a minute longer. 

For the life I want for myself, I’m picking quality each time, and that’s why, until this day, you’ll always find buckets in my home. 

As I lean over the bucket in my bathroom and hand wash my daughter’s socks, I have to say thank you, Gogo, for teaching me never to settle for convenience over quality.

Peace & Love

Chidochashe ❤️

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started